PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Why do they make it so hard on Wireless connections?

Copitox
January 25th, 2009, 10:09 PM
I'm not an absolute beginner, but i'm asking this in place of my dad.

I'll explain the title. In Windows you choose the Wireless Connection and enter the password. In Ubuntu you ALSO have to select what type of password does the connection have. ¿What's the point? that just confuses beginners and make you waste time when you don't know that. ¿Is there a way to configure it as an automatic detection like in windows?

Thanks

pi.boy.travis
January 25th, 2009, 10:12 PM
Once you connect to the network successfully, Ubuntu 8.10 should automatically connect to it whenever you are in range.

sleepyjon
January 25th, 2009, 10:20 PM
Once you connect to the network successfully, Ubuntu 8.10 should automatically connect to it whenever you are in range.

I think the OP is talking about the password type, not connecting itself.

WICD does detect the encryption type: http://wicd.sourceforge.net/

I don't know about NM, I haven't used it for a long time.

Copitox
January 25th, 2009, 10:52 PM
I know WICD tells you what the encryption type is, but you still have to choose it.. and is not only choosing between WEP and WPA, there are like four types of encryption types.. what i want is to just put the password, so my dad won't bother with things he doesn't care about!

sizzlefire
January 25th, 2009, 10:55 PM
Why don't you just make the computer automatically connect to the network? That way, he wouldn't even have to put the key. If all else fails, you could always try a different network connection manager.

llamabr
January 25th, 2009, 11:00 PM
No one else seems to understand your question. Sorry.

I think there are two good answers.
First, Linux is infinitely configurable, and most users like the OS for that reason. People who want a shiny START button generally don't want linux.