PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Only option in install is to use 100% of the disk.

thechansen
January 25th, 2009, 09:11 PM
So as you can guess by my post count and me posting in the absolute beginner forum, I'm new to Ubuntu. I had Ubuntu running no problems with an XP dual boot situation. Any problems I had, this forum and google had the answers, but I can't figure out this latest problem.

I reformatted my hard drive to set up a quad boot, with XP, Vista, Windows 7 beta and Ubuntu. I know, it's a bit silly to have all four, but I'm changing careers and I'm getting my various computer certifications. And I've been using Macs for about 8 years now, and my knowledge of Windows isn't exactly fresh, aside from XP. I never even used vista before. Or Ubuntu for that matter (it isn't exactly foreign to me having spent some time in OS X terminal screen).

Now I got the three Microsoft OSes installed with out issue, but Ubuntu doesn't seem to want to install unless its using 100% of the disk. I have 4 partitions that I made using GParted live CD which windows of various flavor had no problem installing on. Ubuntu has no option for guided partition along side other OSes, and I can't seem to figure out how to get this setup manually because every time I think I have it right, I get a message about having to format the entire disk, which I cancel.

Any suggestions on how to get this setup? Should I do it in a different order? I went Win 7, Vista, XP, and then Ubuntu. I may do it differently because installing XP last seemed to mess up my boot menu, by basically not showing me my operating system options.

Aside from all of that mess, I enjoy using Ubuntu. Took me forever to get HDMI audio to work with my 790GX motherboard, but once I did, everything was perfect. Most of my time on my test rig was spent in Ubuntu. But I am liking Windows 7. Not as much as OS X, but I'm a fanboy.

Kellemora
January 25th, 2009, 09:55 PM
Hi TC

Are you SURE it wants to use 100% of the DISK OR