PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop PC Wireless problems

iLeet
January 25th, 2009, 09:02 PM
Hi all, Im really new to ubuntu and I just installed it on my desktop pc I opened the terminal and scanned my pci ports

It said [0280]Boardcom coperation(sumthing like that :p) blah b;ah [14e4:blah]

I installed ndigtk or sumthing like that and under administration I got Windows wireless drivers but now im stuck I dont know where to get the drivers or anything and Iv searched and searched and no results.

Please help,
iLeet

pi.boy.travis
January 25th, 2009, 09:04 PM
Try looking in System>Administration>Hardware Drivers.

ugm6hr
January 25th, 2009, 09:08 PM
Help us help you...

First - read the "Getting help here" link in my signature (for future reference).

Then, give us more detail than "blah" - copy and paste the exact entries and results from the following commands:

lspci
lshw -class network

And let us know which version of Ubuntu you use, in addition to whether you could use a wired connection temporarily to download drivers / firmware.

iLeet
February 6th, 2009, 02:42 AM
Yeah i got nDiswrapper working

But now I CANNOT find the drivers for:

01:05.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43xG 802.11b/g [14e4:4325] (rev 02)

I'v searched everywere

P.S
Ubuntu 8.10

abyssius
February 6th, 2009, 02:52 AM
Yeah i got nDiswrapper working

But now I CANNOT find the drivers for:

I'v searched everywere

P.S
Ubuntu 8.10

If you're using ndiswrapper, then you'll need the windows driver for your wireless card. Don't you have the Windows Install disk for your adapter? That is where you'll find the appropriate ndiswrapper driver. It's the same driver used by Windows. You can use the Windows driver to get on the Internet, where I'm pretty sure you'll find a native Linux solution for your card.

iLeet
February 6th, 2009, 02:53 AM
Unfornatly I dont have the disk

abyssius
February 6th, 2009, 03:03 AM
Unfornatly I dont have the disk