PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dapper updates missing packages

dougalkerr
January 25th, 2009, 06:27 PM
I installed 227 updates today as requested by the system on my home laptop. The laptop is an ols Acer Travelmate 630 which I believe to be the cause of many mushaps I seem to go through when trying to 'update' my Dapper system.
When I rebooted I got a message about the xserver not working and after clicking on only two further dialogue boxes I was presented with the command line.
I am a Linux newbie and for the life of me I cannot understand why there is not something to put the system back the way it was as an option if things go wrong. Never mind I am not crowing about it because after a bit of searching the Internet I got a couple of lines of commands and got my x back.
I think the problem was my own fault for not disabling ENVY as told to but, I assumed I only had to do this if I was 'upgrading' and not simply applying updates.
Now the thing is although I have my desktop back I seem to be missing items from the menus with on of them being the Synaptic Package Manager and another being the Software Sources both from the Administration menu under Syetm.
How can I get these missing packages and others back. They may actually be on the laptop but just not being applied to the menu lists.
I think after all the bother I have had with any kind of updates applied to Dapper I will resort to the initial installation option of Grub and not apply any more updates whatsoever.