PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cannot get 8.10 to work

merlin666
January 24th, 2009, 08:48 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for a few years, faithfully going from one version to the next. I was pleased with the easy transition from 7.10 to 8.04, and 8.04 worked very well for me with the exception of wireless connection. I hoped that 8.10 would remedy this shortcoming, and decided to go for the update. The following occurred: there was no GUI as gnome/xserver would not start. After removing the fglrx driver I was able to get into gnome, but it was a poor experience with several issues, such as no working arrow/cursor keys. After much experimenting, I lost access to xserver/gnome again, and searches through this forum did not yield any solutions to start it again, and I was advised that there is no "downgrade" path to go back to the excellent 8.04 configuration that I had before.

I decided to try a new installation (dual boot with XP) and downloaded and burnt the 8.10 install image to disc. I have not done this for years, so started with a manual partition etc3 set for a journaling file and / as mount point. I also added a generous logical partition for swap. The installation proceeded fine from there, until close to the end there was a fatal error stating that grub could not be installed. On reboot I get a boot menu that reflects my old configured menu.lst. When I select the linux kernel, I get to a login screen, but there is no keyboard or touchpad response. ctrl-alt-f2 goes to a terminal, and when I checked xorg.conf it shows empty headings. I am at a loss now. What is the proper way to a "clean" install that writes a fresh menu.lst and xorg.conf, and will still permit dual boot to XP?

lemming465
January 25th, 2009, 11:20 PM