PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help Running Ubuntu 8.10 Off a 4gb Flash Drive

russet_wolf
January 24th, 2009, 06:24 PM
I'm very new to Ubuntu (and Linux in general), having just installed Ibex about two weeks ago on an external USB hard drive. I love it! but I want to make it a little more portable. I have a 4gb flash drive that I would like to dedicate to Ubuntu as my portable OS, instead of my big clunky (in comparison) external USB hard drive, which I've been using as my default anyway. I have a lot of questions:

Is 4gb enough? I'm not going to be doing anything huge on it, like installing who knows what size of programs, but I would like to be able to carry a few files and do the basics like surfing and YouTube-ing.
How should I partition? I've read around a little and saw something about using an ext2 instead of ext3 to reduce the writes made to an SSD.
What other tricks are there for optimizing the life of the SSD? Any settings at install or mounting temporary files somewhere?
Also, how long can I expect the flash drive to live, running Ubuntu?
I know it's a lot to ask, but I would also like to be able to have a separate partition (NTFS) for my files so that Windows computer an read them (using it as a thumb drive)
Is there a better version of Ubuntu than 8.10 to install on a flash drive? Perhaps something smaller?

I'm sure I'll have more questions later, but these I think are enough to get me started. Does anyone have any suggestions?

snowpine
January 24th, 2009, 06:39 PM
Hi Wolf, the Ubuntu 8.10 live CD has a feature (in the system menu) for creating a bootable USB device. You can set up a "persistent" live USB, meaning the filesystem is compressed like on the live CD (good for preserving the life of the drive) but you can save files, install new applications, etc. It should fit easily on your 4gb drive, and you can have an NTFS partition too. :) I think the NTFS partition needs to be the first one on the drive in order for Windows to recognize it.