PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] re-install stuck at "Checking Battery..." HELP!

riteandritual
January 24th, 2009, 12:36 AM
HELP!

I've been using Ubuntu Intrepid for 2 months now, using a 30GB partition for my /, and 1.1TB for my /home . Last week I figured I'll install XP again for games only, but then I couldn't figure out how to reinstall grub. I couldn't find how to access this elusive 'recovery mode', search as I might. So I deleted the XP partition and the Ubuntu partition and tried to reinstall.

It looks like it installs fine until the screen goes blank and then goes to a
* Checking battery state... [OK]
screen and stays there indefinitely. I don't have a battery since I'm on a PC, so this makes me nervous.

So, I start up with the USB ubuntu I made when Intrepid still worked (lucky I did), and it gives me the same problem! So, I type [ctrl]+[alt]+[F2] and get a command prompt, and I type in startx, and here I am, on the USB linux.

Question 1: How do I fix this in my install - and why now, when nothing (hardware) has changed? why?
Question 2: My home with 400GB worth of data is on a 1.1TB partition... will a reinstall overwrite this? can I incorporate this into my install? Or do I have to re-install with a new "home", making it necessary to mount and piecemeal save this data..?

Athlon 64 4000+ CPU
Gigabit motherboard
2 gigs ram
sata hdd
sata dvd drive (only change since original install)
ATI a-i-w X1900 gpu.

I'm currently looking for solutions for this problem on the forum and will post my success (if any) for others - in the meanwhile, I'd greatly appreciate help getting my ubuntu back.

PS: In desperation I've tried PCBSD and it seemed to have a problem with my graphics card too.... but my graphics card used to work fine on my original ubuntu install!](*,)

riteandritual
January 24th, 2009, 05:29 AM
Status Update:

following hints I found in other parts of the forum, I tried

sudo apt-get install xorg-driver-fglrx jockey-gtk
sudo ati config --initial