PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting recomendations

psychobot
January 23rd, 2009, 07:28 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and have a few questions regarding the different distributions. I apologize in advance if I posted this in the wrong section and kindly ask for this thread to be moved to the proper forum if it is.

First of all, I would like to know if there is a difference between 8.04 long term support and 8.10. I've always thought it to be better to go for the newest version but the 8.04 has a longer support life. So any guidance as to which version to take will help me a great deal.

Second, my computer is capable of handling a 64 bit operating system. Is there a benefit of the 64 bit distros over the 32 bit? In my past experience with XP I've had tough times with software support even they had the wow emulator to allow 32 bit programs in a 64 bit environment. Do the 64 bit distros have such an emulator or is it a strict 64 bit environment? I only use 2GB of ram so I don't need the 64 bit os for memory support. I guess my main question is should I use a amd64 distro or a i386 distribution?

My third and last question involves installing it. Currently I am running XP pro 64 bit. I want to dual-boot XP with whatever Ubuntu distro I am recommended. I have 2 hard drives and am able to set the two operating systems on the faster of the two with my swaps and documents on another. Does Ubuntu run better in that way like Windows? Am I able to setup a swap partition on the second drive to be used by both windows and Ubuntu? What would be the best setup to use with this kind of scenario?

I thank you all in advance and apologize for being such a newb.

russu52
January 23rd, 2009, 07:34 PM
i am using ubuntu 8.10 32 bit version on a 64 bit machine and it is working fine. you can install ubuntu on the second drive, and then you choose which os to use when booting. i had vista and ubuntu 8.10 as dual boot.

overdrank
January 23rd, 2009, 07:36 PM