PDA

View Full Version : Warcraft III no CD error

Carltonlinux
January 23rd, 2009, 05:27 PM
I have ubuntu 8.10 and the newest version of Wine installed.

I installed under the C: directory and have gone into winecfg to set it up.

every time I go into a terminal and run wine Warcraft\ III.exe -opengl

I just get an no CD error, I am fully aware how to crack and run games in xp, i normally go to gamecopyworld.com and get a .exe file but this doesnt seem to work because i still get the same error. I am a Computer Science student and decided to immerse myself in linux, but would really like to have a few of my fav windows games to play when i take a break from doing C++ work in Eclipse.

Thanks in advance
Carlton

hotweiss
January 24th, 2009, 04:18 AM
You have to download and install this:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=200B2FD9-AE1A-4A14-984D-389C36F85647&displaylang=en

Now you you will not have the CD error anymore.

k@e
January 24th, 2009, 11:37 AM
I can run Warcraft III without having installed any runtimes.

Don't use a crack. Get and apply the latest patch (1.22a), it removes the need for having a CD inserted.

hotweiss
January 24th, 2009, 07:22 PM
I can run Warcraft III without having installed any runtimes.

Don't use a crack. Get and apply the latest patch (1.22a), it removes the need for having a CD inserted.

I got this error without using the crack also. I just backed up my Warcraft 3 onto a DVD so that I would not have to install each time, and that's what I think the OP did also.

ucal
December 3rd, 2009, 09:05 PM
Maybe I'm beating a dead horse here, but I have the same error. Frozen Throne worked until I patched it to 1.24 (right after installing it), and now it gives me a No CD error.

How to play without CD?

Connect to battle.net to upgrade to the latest version of Warcraft 3 which doesn't need a CD.