PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] vista on one hdd then linux on other problem



5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:06 AM
ok i Installed vista first on one hdd then ubuntu on my other hdd
now when i boot my pc I dont get a vista option in grub. but all the vista
files are still there on the installed drive. is there a way to boot into vista or can i reinstall vista but will i then not be able to boot into ubuntu? im confused.

Crafty Kisses
January 22nd, 2009, 05:09 AM
You can try editing your GRUB config file and manually adding Windows Vista, see if that does anything, try the following:

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
Once you're in your GRUB config, add the following lines at the bottom of the file:

title Windows Vista

root (hd0,0)

makeactive

chainloader +
Depending where Vista is located root (hd0,0) will vary just to let you know, so try that, and if that doesn't work, please post back and either I or someone else can help you further.

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:25 AM
ok thanks for your help
now im getting a vista option but i get and error
ERROR #1 must be absoute path or block list

i also see that ubuntu is on hd0,0 so what should i set the vista
drive to in grub

Crafty Kisses
January 22nd, 2009, 05:29 AM
So try to set Vista as the following:

root (hd1,0)
I'd also like to see the results of this command:

sudo fdisk -l

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:33 AM
greg@dashiz:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 300.0 GB, 300069052416 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 36481 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd485d485

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 35002 281153533+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 35003 36481 11880067+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 35003 36481 11880036 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x51a263a7

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 60802 488384512 7 HPFS/NTFS

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:35 AM
the 500gb is my vista drive as i said earlier my vista files are intact
we just need grub pointed in the right direction. ty im such a noob

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:42 AM
ya no go with hd1.o

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 05:58 AM
if i cant get the windows path installed in grub could i drag my important
stuff to the linux drive being careful to not over write the linux partion?
then reinstall grub with the live cd ?

bumanie
January 22nd, 2009, 07:24 AM
Looks as though your drives have reversed themselves somehow. You can try either one of two things A) You could try altering the boot order in bios - as long as the /boot/grub/menu.lst is correct (ie has windows on (hd0,0)). or B) If windows is recorded as (hd1,0) in the grub menu.lst, between makeactive and chainloader add these lines

map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)

If you can boot into ubuntu, you can post the output of
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst and someone can help you further re whether to use A) of B). As you said, it looks as though vista is fully intact.

5dollafootlong
January 22nd, 2009, 07:31 PM
ok ive sorted out the problem with your help thanks ubuntu community for the win :p