PDA

View Full Version : Code written on Linux, compiled on Unix issues.

NJDubois
January 21st, 2009, 08:35 PM
Other than 2 bland warnings I get when I compile a really simple program in linux, everything works fine.

But when I send it to my friend who needed a program for a unix machine, he gets an error when he compiles.

/usr/ccs/bin/ld: Unsatisfied symbols:
getline (first referenced in /var/tmp//cc6NpPvd.o) (code)

here is the code

printf(" input(%d) : ", tCounter);
line_input = (char *) malloc (nbytes + 1);
bytes_read = getline (&line_input, &nbytes, stdin);

I did some research and found out that getline is a GNU standard, I'm guessing its not a Unix standard. I have zero experience with Unix, and have fired an email to him asking if he knows what compiler he is using.

This part of the code is desigined to simply get a line of text from the console, is there an easier way? I spent the most time on this part alone. line_input is what I need the string entered from the keyboard saved to.

Any idea what I can do to kill this error?

[EDIT] It has to be the stdin part?

Thanks in advanced
Nick

Simian Man
January 21st, 2009, 08:43 PM
Gcc is probably the most popular compiler across all Unix systems (except maybe suncc on Solaris platforms), so he is probably using that.

If that is the case he should be able to use the GNU extensions by #defining _GNU_SOURCE in his source code or, equivalently, by passing the -D_GNU_SOURCE option to gcc. This basically tells the compiler that you want the gnu extensions which may be turned off by default.

If he doesn't use gcc, then you will have to avoid getline or find the source for it and compile it along with your source.

[EDIT] Reading your code, you aren't even relying on the useful features of getline (you create astring on the heap yourself). You should be able to easily substitute the fgets (http://www.opengroup.org/onlinepubs/009695399/functions/fgets.html) function.

NJDubois
January 21st, 2009, 08:51 PM