PDA

View Full Version : Any use for pentium 4 1.7GHz with HDHomerun?

Dartr
January 21st, 2009, 04:34 PM
I'm very new to the MythTV/Mythbuntu scene and am trying to learn as much as I can as I'm going. I'm planning to eventually have two machines, one serving double duty as a mythtv and desktop and the other being a dedicated HTPC.

I'm starting with the following meager hardware:

Pentium 4 1.7GHz
1GB RAM
eVGA 7600GT 512MB AGP
150GB 7200RPM SATA
250GB 7200RPM SATA

This machine performs beautifully for us as a desktop with Intrepid. To experiment I've loaded Mythbuntu to it just to try out the software (no tv recording/watching yet).

I don't want to invest much, if any, more hardware into this machine. Using OTA digital broadcasts as my TV source, I need to come up with a system that will be able to handle HD well (record and "live"-watch one program plus record another). The easy parts were the remote and tuner:

Streamzap remote
Silicondust HDHomerun

My plan is to keep the above P4 system as a desktop and add a second machine as the FE/BE that can handle the recording and watching.

With all of the above...

1. Is there any way to utilize the P4 as a FE to watch TV?

2. Would it be possible to build a new FE/BE machine that could downsample on-demand for the P4 without that new machine being overly expensive?

3. Or am I better off ditching the P4 and starting from scratch with two inexpensive dual core machines?

tgm4883
January 21st, 2009, 07:30 PM
1. Is there any way to utilize the P4 as a FE to watch TV?

No

2. Would it be possible to build a new FE/BE machine that could downsample on-demand for the P4 without that new machine being overly expensive?/QUOTE]

No

[QUOTE=Dartr;6590733]
3. Or am I better off ditching the P4 and starting from scratch with two inexpensive dual core machines?