PDA

View Full Version : [other] Overclock a processor

Mr.Macdonald
January 21st, 2009, 04:00 AM
I have a VIA Esther processor 1000MHz, and I was wondering about overclocking it. Currently it is running as so

processor : 0
vendor_id : CentaurHauls
cpu family : 6
model : 10
model name : VIA Esther processor 1000MHz
stepping : 9
cpu MHz : 800.000
cache size : 128 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge cmov pat clflush acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 up pni est rng rng_en ace ace_en ace2 ace2_en phe phe_en pmm pmm_en
bogomips : 1599.51
clflush size : 64
power management:

Should I bump it up straight to 1000MHz or step it, and if I step how should I go about doing it. This is my first time overclocking so telling me all I need (I have read a bit).

Mr.Macdonald
January 21st, 2009, 05:39 AM
Or you could just state your views on overclocking

00b00nt00
January 21st, 2009, 01:14 PM
My own personal view on overclocking is: don't do it.

You are potentially compromising the stability of your system for a modest gain in performance.

If you need a faster machine, get another computer and save yourself some hassle.

dabl
January 21st, 2009, 03:46 PM
I do it. I run my Core 2 Extreme (default 2.93GHz) at 3.45GHz -- it's been set that way for two years now.

But, that doesn't mean 00b00nt00 is wrong -- it probably is shortening the life of the CPU.

Regardless, you do the overclocking with motherboard/BIOS settings -- it is irrelevant to the OS you are running on it. There are far better resources on the Internet than this forum, which you should review if you are in doubt, or need guidance. Here is only one of them:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/

Cracauer
January 21st, 2009, 06:08 PM