PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I need the SD CARD working on NC8000 laptop!!!!!ANYONE??

DocTorQue
January 20th, 2009, 05:43 PM
Please,

Folks...what is the matter with you all...some kind a linux support...

I have HP Compaq NC8000 Laptop.The SD-CARD reader dont work...i have tried something to get it work and i screw up the intire system...had to reinstall ubuntu (8.10)

Now im not touching it unless someone has a solution that works 100%.

AND im not a linux programer to do it by foot. It would be nice that someone gives me a good tutorial for beginner.

Thank you...

stchman
January 20th, 2009, 07:14 PM
Please,

I have HP Compaq NC8000 Laptop.The SD-CARD reader dont work...i have tried something to get it work and i screw up the intire system...had to reinstall ubuntu (8.10)

Now im not touching it unless someone has a solution that works 100%.

AND im not a linux programer to do it by foot. It would be nice that someone gives me a good tutorial for beginner.

Thank you...

Does this laptop have an SD/xD card slot? Are you using just SD cards or are you trying to read xD cards? I know that most laptop Ubuntu's kernel does not support xD cards used in the multi slots.

There is always the USB to SD/xD card readers. They can be had on ebay for under $8 and they work with all kinds of cards.

Give us an lspci output in this thread.

russu52
January 20th, 2009, 07:43 PM
hello and thanks for this thread. i have an acer aspire 5720 running on ubuntu 8.10. the multi card slot reads sdhc, but doesn't recognise the xd card.

timcredible
January 20th, 2009, 07:44 PM
well, since you asked so nice......

mtbsoft
January 21st, 2009, 02:33 AM
With an attitude like that, you're going to make loads of friends here! Please remember that all the other forum users are volunteers, giving up their own time to help both the grateful and the ungrateful.

Might I respectfully suggest you read this (http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm) article, item 3a seems rather appropriate...