PDA

View Full Version : Which programming language could help me ?

feras.ws
January 20th, 2009, 12:41 PM
Dear Sirs,

I used to use Ms Windows for about more than 13 years , and finally I decided to move into Linux especially Ubuntu,
I am a desktop application programmer and I would like to program for Linux but I don't know which programming language could help me , so could you please help me in these questions ?
1- does Mono help me to program applications for Linux using .NET?
2- which is the most useful programming language which allows me to program applications for Linux ?
3- when I program for Linux , should I program an application for each versions (Open Suse,Mandriva,Ubuntu) or just one application ?

Waiting your kind reply.

Feras Allaou

MikeSz
January 20th, 2009, 12:55 PM
you may be better off in the Programming talk section rather than absolute beginners as there are plenty of discussions of this nature that will be of help to you. I'm only a notice programmer but I am told that Python is the one to go for where Ubuntu is concerned.

edit - if you go to the main Ubuntu Forum Community, you'll see all the different categories and of of them is Development and Programming

feras.ws
January 20th, 2009, 01:00 PM
you may be better off in the Programming talk section rather than absolute beginners as there are plenty of discussions of this nature that will be of help to you. I'm only a notice programmer but I am told that Python is the one to go for where Ubuntu is concerned.

edit - if you go to the main Ubuntu Forum Community, you'll see all the different categories and of of them is Development and Programming

Thank you very much for your quick reply.I'm sorry for posting it in the inappropriate section , Waiting moderators to move it into the appropriate section .

Feras

MikeSz
January 20th, 2009, 01:05 PM