PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] starting X application from non - X screen

freak42
January 19th, 2009, 10:02 PM
Hello,

I have a problem poking around with mythbuntu and suspend.

I have a script that removes kernel modules and shuts down the mythbackend server and suspends and after waking up restarts everything nicely.
However it also restarts mythwelcome which is a x application (a windowed application), when I test this script from a normal console within my x session everything works fine), but when the script is run from the mythbackend server it is not within a x session and the start of the application fails.
So is there a way of starting the application in the context of the x-session from a non x-session script?

many thanks in advance

matthias

yeats
January 20th, 2009, 02:25 AM
I think you'll get better help in the "General Help" section. Shell programming and kernel modules are a little beyond the "absolute beginner" category. :-)

freak42
January 20th, 2009, 09:13 AM
You are right, Chris.

Luckily I found a solution to my problem elsewhere:
So instead of simply starting the app in my non-x script
app

I must set a display variable (?) and execute the app as the xorg session user

DISPLAY=:0.0 su xuser -c 'app'

where 'xuser' is the normal user which ubuntu autostarts. Of course the script must have the rights to execute stuff as this user, but in this case it's not a problem.

If someone knows a more elegant way or can explain me what really is going on here, please do.
But I mark as solved for now. EDIT: I can't find the mark as solved button? Is it me or is it gone?

jonnybignote
October 19th, 2009, 09:23 PM
matthias

wondered if you would mind expanding on your successful attempts at mythbuntu working with suspend. I have Mythwelcome shutting down and restarting the system successfully, thanks to this thread

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1176528