PDA

View Full Version : text editors

octopusfinley
January 19th, 2009, 12:40 AM
Hey there all,
I'm just starting out, trying to learn C++. I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a good text editor. So far I've just been using nano but I feel like this isn't really the place for a program and I also can't find any way to copy my programs. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
finley

cmay
January 19th, 2009, 12:44 AM
all iever use is geany. or codeblocks which i think could be the c++ editor you may want. kdevelop is nice too. but i run light desktop enviroment so i stick with geany. i use nano for editing the files in the system however. like apt sources. but i know it can be madse to syntaxt higlightning. vim or vi for console based programming editors is very popular. i would as said use geany. or gedit on ubuntu.

DocForbin
January 19th, 2009, 01:35 AM
Haven't used it for C++, but I really like Geany as well. It's lightweight/fast, and a nice balance between a juggernaut IDE and a simple editor.

For programming text editors, vi/vim and emacs are popular and powerful, but have a bit of learning curve. There are lots of threads on this topic, and tons of options. Search and try a few out.

For a full-fledged IDE, netbeans and eclipse and both nice, and free :) NetBeans 6.5 is really slick.

jimi_hendrix
January 19th, 2009, 01:36 AM
vim (gvim for the faint-hearted)

octopusfinley
January 19th, 2009, 01:43 AM
Wow thanks everyone, I didn't expect such a good response. I'll definitely check out these suggestions. I really appreciate it.

Joeb454
January 19th, 2009, 01:52 AM
I use Vim for small text file editing, or for coding on remote computers.

Other than that I have to give my +1 to Geany :D

module0000
January 19th, 2009, 01:57 AM
VIM is great if you can get the keyboard shortcuts to second nature(and remember to give it ":syntax on" for highlighting).