PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Customize Desktop Help

camerongriser
January 18th, 2009, 10:07 PM
Hey Everyone,

I'm extremely new to linux and just downloaded ubuntu to my laptop. I am a computer science major and i felt like everyone with my major should at least test out linux. I have seen a lot of videos and would really like to customize my desktop. I really like linux but i am having so many problems. I have downloaded emerald and compiz, but neither work. I have read forum after forum and have come to the conclusion that it has something to do with my graphics card. To give you a little more information about my system, I have a ASUS G50V laptop with a NVIDIA graphics card. I think these problems with compiz and emerald have something to do with my graphics card. If anyone could help me out that would be greatly appreciate.

FCC
Fellow.Computer.Craver

dkev
January 18th, 2009, 11:10 PM
Make sure your using the recommended Nvidia driver (177). System/Administration/Hardware Drivers.

oaqster
January 18th, 2009, 11:55 PM
do you know what nvidia card you have? cuz some of the cards dont work that well with the default driver. run "lspci" in a terminal and look for your vga card.... if its not correctly listed you might need to download and install the appropriate driver from nvidia's website or you could use Envy that will detect, download and install the correct driver for you.

also goto System -> Preferences -> Apearence -> Visual Effects, and select the last option "Extra", if your card's driver is correctly installed and its good enough to handle better visual effects, this will enable some default eye candy for you like wobbly & snapping windows, minimize & maximize effects etc.