PDA

View Full Version : Why is Ubuntu/Linux so slow?

memories
January 18th, 2009, 09:54 PM
First, I have been using Linux exclusively for the past 6-8 years. I will probably continue to use Linux if I don't switch to OS X (has nothing to do with performance, I just like Mac). Let's please keep the Windowz is Lame mentality out of this.

I recently upgraded my hardware to an Intel Q6600/8 GB of RAM/EP45-DS3L/Geforce 8600 GT.

I have been toying with OS X / Windows XP SP1 and Ubuntu Hardy on my box for the past week. I actually booted into Windows for the first time in years just to see how my hardware performs.

Here's what I noticed.

GUI Response
The desktop/GUI response on XP and Aqua (Mac) is damn fast. It's instant. Linux IMO has always been sluggish in this area, but this is probably due to Xorg/Gnome/KDE.

There's a noticeable delay between when I press a button and a terminal window open. It's VERY quick on Linux, but it's just much quicker on Windows or OS X.

There's an option in the Kernel to speed up desktop response time, IIRC. I'll recompile my kernel in a sec. I'm using 2.6.27-9-generic #1 SMP.

Internet
I have disabled IPV6 and browsing the Internet in Ubuntu is still pretty slow, relative to the other OSes. I wasn't surprised to find that OS X was super quick but I just thought it was due to Safari (recommended!). But Firefox in XP also outperforms Firefox in Ubuntu (same version, same extensions). I know FF in Linux has always been sluggish but the difference is huge!

Opening Firefox is also 10x slower in Linux IMO. All machines were tested using the same NIC/ethernet. No wireless tests were done.

Geekbench (Higher is better)