PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for a netbook

suda
January 17th, 2009, 09:13 PM
Hello everybody!

I'm new to Ubuntu and new to these forums.

Do you have any recommendations for a netbook that works well with Unbuntu--reliable, easy to install Ubuntu and trouble shoot problems, etc.?

My main criteria for a netbook is that it have enough ports so that I can add an optical disk drive and an external monitor. I want something fast and durable with an atom processor and or SSD. Screen size can be 8.9. Not fussy because of the external monitor. As much memory as possible is good but not worried about how big the hard drive is. Oh, yes. And something that is cheap. :) I'm getting ready to trash my Mac G3 iBook so that I can learn how things operate. If I could install Ubuntu on the iBook, I would but am having problems getting the iBook to "see" the live CD.

Any recommendations you have are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

s.

Sealbhach
January 17th, 2009, 09:19 PM
Hi, it appears Ubuntu works very well in the iBook, hopefully someone will come along who has done it.

https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-users/2004-December/015923.html

Or you could get a Dell Mini 9 with Ubuntu preloaded.

Edit: Try installing Hardy (see link):

http://ubuntu-ky.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1030818

suda
January 17th, 2009, 09:23 PM
Many thanks for the thought about the Dell mini. Will definitely check that. Also, thanks for the link. Maybe there's hope yet for the iBook. :-)

s.

cardinals_fan
January 17th, 2009, 09:25 PM
Disclaimer: I don't own one of these, so I can't comment on durability or compatibility with Linux. However, I've read that it should work.

With that said, I had a chance to play around with a Lenovo Ideapad S10 a while back and was blown away. The keyboard was very small but quite usable nonetheless, the screen was nice, the machine was silent, and the performance (OS = XP) was very impressive.

Product info: