PDA

View Full Version : [mythbuntu] Moving an existing installation from one physical disk to another

stromdal
January 16th, 2009, 10:37 PM
I have a HTPC with MythBuntu that I've used for some time now, but now I suspect the system disk to fail within short; it is making a lot of noise. Being an old 20GB disk that I got for free, this is no tragedy; I already have a 40GB disk to replace the old one, but the work involved in setting the system up again is not too appealing - especially since I am a Linux novice.

What would be the best approach here?
* Raw-copying the entire 20GB disk onto the 40GB disk or
* making backup of the system settings from the 20GB disk, installing MythBuntu on the 40GB disk and using the backup to create an identical system again?

logos34
January 16th, 2009, 11:19 PM
clone the entire disk to new one with the dd command--that's the easiest IMO.

Cloning an entire hard disk:
Code:

dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb bs=4096 conv=notrunc,noerror

/dev/sda is the source. /dev/sdb is the target. Do not reverse the intended source and target. It happens. Notrunc means 'do not truncate the output file'. Noerror means to keep going if there is an error. Normally dd stops at any error.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/learn-the-dd-command-362506/
Or copy it with cp -a. Or use gparted 'move' function:

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry/move/move.htm

(the latter require you to reinstall grub to mbr of new disk.)

stromdal
January 17th, 2009, 07:19 PM
I took your advice and did a

dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb bs=4096 conv=notrunc,noerror

The command seems to have worked fine, but after removing the old drive and booting I get a GRUB Error 2. I guess this is doe to GRUB not finding the correct partition to boot from, but I cant seem to solve the problem.

When booting onto the system using a Live CD I run the commands

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub
grub> find /boot/grub/stage1

Error 15: File not found.

also: