PDA

View Full Version : In times of error, do you fix or reinstall your system?

sofasurfer
January 16th, 2009, 08:51 PM
1) When you find yourself facing a failed system, either not functioning at all or not functioning to your standards, are you most likely to reinstall your system or do you usually find out how to fix it?

2) Post the circumstances of your last system failure.

I try to find fixes but I am not very good at that yet. I usually end up reinstalling my system by using a previously saved package list. This takes about and hour and a quarter which isn't really a problem for me.

Most recently I am not able to get my Nvidia driver working. I have tried 3 or 4 differant solutions which were posted in the forums but still no luck. Usually after a failed fix attempt I reinstall just to be sure my system isn't contaminated with bad stuff.

Valok
January 16th, 2009, 08:54 PM
Depends on the state of my system. If I've been tinkering with a lot of things, and the system feels clunky / messy then I'll back up my files and do a complete re install of Ubuntu. Otherwise I'll just try and fix the bug.

Sunflower1970
January 16th, 2009, 08:57 PM
I will usually try to fix the problem first so I can learn a bit more about the system. But, if that doesn't work, or it's taking just too darned long, I'll go ahead and reinstall.

Last circumstance of a reinstall was user error (lol). My old Compaq where I try out different distros, and try other things before I install anything on my main computers. It originally had Xubuntu, PCLinuxOS, Arch & Debian on it..I screwed something up in Xubuntu, have no idea what it was, got frustsrated, wiped the hard drive and did a fresh install with just Debian and Arch. (which was something I was planning on doing anyway, so no big loss)

Barrucadu
January 16th, 2009, 09:12 PM
Always fix. My last system failure was inability to boot after accidentally deleting my /boot folder.

RATM_Owns
January 16th, 2009, 09:16 PM
Fix.