PDA

View Full Version : What is the best book to learn Python? And best IDE for it.

NeonBible
January 15th, 2009, 09:20 PM
I'm pretty much a beginner but I have some experience with programming languages. I just haven't tackled very large projects.

I have read numerous books before and they all talk about the same stuff i.e. start with Hello World, some basic arithmetic, variables, conditions, loops etc. So I don't want to read another book in that format.

I never put my knowledge into good use but I am want to start afresh, with Python, and tackle some projects which are a bit beyond basic.

So I guess I am more interested in understanding how to build a program, structure, design, good clean code.

Are there any good books which are project/tutorial based rather than teaching fundamentals? E.g. will teach me step by step how to create a simple word processor, and then gradually taking on more complex applications.

Also whats a good IDE for Python? I don't mind using just Python console and Vim, but I guess as a beginner I need to pay more attention to debugging.

fiddler616
January 15th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Are there any good books which are project/tutorial based rather than teaching fundamentals? E.g. will teach me step by step how to create a simple word processor, and then gradually taking on more complex applications.

Also whats a good IDE for Python? I don't mind using just Python console and Vim, but I guess as a beginner I need to pay more attention to debugging.
I'm afraid I'm not much help in the tutorial department. Although if you were serious about making a word processor, you should look into GUIs (GTK+ and WxWidgets are probably the two most popular here).
As for IDEs...prepare for a huge fight.