PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Speed of Ubuntu?

shrekfx
January 15th, 2009, 04:26 PM
Question, I installed ubuntu a few days ago and would have thought that it would run faster then xp... (i'm new to linux).. Well to me it seems like it boots up alot slower.. When i'm in, its running smooth, that i can tell, some hang ups. but not bad..

My system

amd duel core 64bit 5000
4 gig ram
nvidia 8600gt 256 graphic card
umm, what else do you need?

Thanks.

lovelyvik293
January 15th, 2009, 04:41 PM
The system becames slow when you have lot of application running.You can just uninstall the applications which are not required.

avtolle
January 15th, 2009, 04:52 PM
Look in your System>Preferences>Sessions, Startup Programs tab for those applications automatically loaded on start-up. Disable the ones you don't use/want, and see if this speeds up your boot. Also, see if under the Session Options tab the box to remember running poplications (or something like that) on log out is checked; uncheck it if it is, and see if that helps.

shrekfx
January 16th, 2009, 02:15 PM
i dd all that, but only took like 3 apps off the start up.. didnt want to take off anything that is critical.

stefangr1
January 16th, 2009, 02:35 PM
Ubuntu isn't really that fast at bootup on computers with good specs. On older hardware, the fact that Ubuntu uses less resources makes it faster.

Also, antivirus and antispyware software can make bootup slow in windows. When I see my desktop on Ubuntu, and push the firefox button, I will be surfing 2 seconds later. In windows that's not the case. When you're up and running performance is comparable in windows and Ubuntu (even though, again, Ubuntu will outperform windows on computers with bad specs.).

donkyhotay
January 16th, 2009, 06:04 PM