PDA

View Full Version : text editor vs. IDE

bonfire89
January 15th, 2009, 10:02 AM
Text Editors vs. IDEs

I'm aware of the benefits of both, perhaps I'm lacking a bit of knowledge about the text editors though

But. What is better to program in, an IDE or a text editor?

I realize this will be opinionated.

I'm somewhat trying to convince myself into using a text editor, but it really seems they are starting to get dated =/

I have ~8 years programming experience, and have worked with too many different languages (hence why I am not proficient in any) but am being forced to learn Java currently if that makes a difference.... and I don't already know a text editor well.

Lets not discuss specific IDEs or text editors.. that will probably just spiral out of control.

Kilon
January 15th, 2009, 11:24 AM
Text Editors vs. IDEs

I'm aware of the benefits of both, perhaps I'm lacking a bit of knowledge about the text editors though

I'm somewhat trying to convince myself into using a text editor, but it really seems they are starting to get dated =/

I have ~8 years programming experience, and have worked with too many different languages (hence why I am not proficient in any) but am being forced to learn Java currently if that makes a difference.... and I don't already know a text editor well.

Lets not discuss specific IDEs or text editors.. that will probably just spiral out of control.

IDEs are the intelligent way of doing things. The more advanced the IDE , the better it is. It will save you loads of time. Avoid programming bits that they can be made with simple drag n drop. You can always return and edit the code the way you like it and make sense to you. Avoid IDEs that put code that does not make sense or is not necessary for you.

jimi_hendrix
January 15th, 2009, 01:19 PM
depends on the language...java swing stuff = ide for me
c/c++/almost everyother language = text editor

Magnes
January 15th, 2009, 01:20 PM
PHP - I prefer text editor, everything else - IDE. :)