PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Changing computer name?



BlazinNightSkye
January 12th, 2009, 09:13 PM
When i got my laptop it didnt give me the option of setting a computer name, I dont want it to stay as 'Ubuntu', is there a way i can change it?

Lee_Machine
January 12th, 2009, 09:27 PM
Install network admin GUI. Why the hell its not by default I dont know....keep users away?

sudo apt-get install gnome-network-admin

Then go to System >> Admin >> Network

Click on the general tab to change the name


hope this helps.

Lee_Machine
January 12th, 2009, 09:37 PM
Anyone know why this was taken away in Ibex as to it was in Hardy?

The only other way I know of is to change your hostname config file in etc/hostname. It's not hard but users shouldn't have to do that.

I'll have to do some reading to see if this will be fixed in Jaunty.

BlazinNightSkye
January 12th, 2009, 10:00 PM
WIll that program work under kubuntu?

Lee_Machine
January 12th, 2009, 10:10 PM
ah, my mistake. Kubuntu.

go to KMenu >> System Settings >> Network Settings

then click on hostname

BlazinNightSkye
January 14th, 2009, 02:05 AM
It doesnt give me an option to change the host name.

Lee_Machine
January 14th, 2009, 02:35 AM
ok, I'll try and find the GUI way for you. Until then type

sudo kate /etc/hostname a text box will show up with just one name and that will be your computer name, change it to what you what you want an' then save.

Reboot and the changes will take effect.

Lee_Machine
January 14th, 2009, 09:10 AM
I apologize BlazinNightSkye none of my Linux computers have KDE on them any more. So i cannot simply change DEs to test this out, but here is a good how to networking page I found.

http://kudos.berlios.de/kf/kisimlar/network.html

This is a feature that was taken out of 8.10 to prevent normal end users from changing it. From what I read it will be put back in the next version.

for now just use the above CL way to do it.

Yeah, the dreaded CL :lolflag:

BlazinNightSkye
January 15th, 2009, 08:09 PM
Thanks

cmnorton
January 15th, 2009, 09:52 PM
Install network admin GUI. Why the hell its not by default I dont know....keep users away?

sudo apt-get install gnome-network-admin

Then go to System >> Admin >> Network

Click on the general tab to change the name


hope this helps.

Thank you. This answer was helpful.

I too received a new computer -- today as a matter of fact -- and network admin was not installed. I tried changing the network name in /etc/hosts, which caused cannot find "ubuntu" errors to take place when I entered sudo commands.

Once I changed in the Network Admin, all was well.