PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems installing on a Compaq SR1103WM

tilerwen
January 12th, 2009, 03:06 PM
Where to begin.....

I am new to linux. I decided to install it on a Compaq SR1103WM, here are the specs:

Intel Celeron(P) 325 2.53 GHz
MS-6577M-ATX Motherboard
1.5 GB of memory PC2700 (this was upgraded from 256, haha)
40 GB hard drive and 160 GB
It has an internal video card, I upgraded with a PCI FX5500 nvidia card

I burned a CD and was able to successfully install it on a laptop. Works great and I love it. I went to install it on my desktop and I am running into gobs of problems.

I tried to boot from the live CD and a message flashes saying:
"Unable to load system description tables."
And then it would hang at the Ubuntu loading screen with the progress bar about 20 percent of the way complete.

After doing much research I found that if I disabled my external video card and hit F6 and typed acpi=off, it was able to start.
I was able to install it inside windows by using a partitioned drive. Now it starts and it gets to the login screen and after i type my username and password, the screen freezes.

It is stuck at a tan screen where I can see my mouse but I can't get any further. I tried to start and add acpi=off to the kernal but it still doesn't work.

My next step would be reinstalling again but I was wandering if anyone else had any ides.

Any help would be appreciated.

tilerwen
January 12th, 2009, 06:43 PM
I figured out how to bypass this.

Since I am using the internal graphics card, apperantly it can't handle the "compiz special effects"

If anyone has this do the following:

1. From the Grub boot menu slect the “recovery mode” option.

2. Select “root Drop to root shell prompt”

Type the following at the prompt:

3. sudo apt-get remove compiz

4. sudo apt-get remove compiz-core

5. exit

6. Select “resume Resume normal boot”

This information was taken from "http://benaiah41.wordpress.com/2008/11/01/ubuntu-810-freezes-after-login-screen/"