PDA

View Full Version : "Watch TV" does nothing w/ 8.10 and HDHomeRun

gungfujoe
January 11th, 2009, 06:37 PM
I'm pretty new to Linux, and very new to setting up a proper HTPC (I had a Win2K system in the living room that I'd use to feed downloaded videos until recently. No tuner, no DVR, etc). I'm trying to set mine up with Mythbuntu 8.10, and decided on SiliconDust's HDHomeRun ATSC tuner. I went through all of the initial setup, and successfully did a channel scan (which told me that Mythbuntu is communicating with the HDHomeRun successfully). I haven't yet signed up with the scheduling service, wanting first to get everything working.

After running through the setup, when I hit "Watch TV" from the MythTV frontend, the screen simply refreshes (goes black for a small fraction of a second and then goes back to the menu). No error message or anything, it just doesn't work.

I've verified that the HDHomeRun is functional and set up correctly by installing the Windows software on another machine on the network. I can pick any channel, launch it in VLC, and it plays just fine. So obviously, I've screwed something up in my Mythbuntu setup. Without any kind of error message, though, I have no idea what.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

RonPDX
January 11th, 2009, 06:52 PM
Eric,

I was having the same problems that your were but with a different card. To get mine up and running I setup an account with Schedules Direct (they offer a free trial) then setup my Video Source, after scanning my scanning my channels, I updated my database and I was able to watch TV.

Mythbuntu has a great install manual that helped me out a lot http://www.mythbuntu.org/installation_manual

gungfujoe
January 11th, 2009, 09:03 PM
Ron,