PDA

View Full Version : No sound via HDMI or S/PDIF (Radeon HD 3450, P45 mobo)

gungfujoe
January 11th, 2009, 06:29 PM
I'm quite new to Linux, so I'm probably missing something obvious here, but I can't seem to get any sound from this system at all. Initially, I tried getting audio via the Asus EAH3450 video card's HDMI output. When I couldn't seem to get that working (tried disabling the MoBo's onboard audio in BIOS, unmuted in alsamixer...), I decided to fall back on the Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L's S/PDIF output

I made sure everything except the microphones were unmuted in alsamixer, and I made sure Alsa:SPDIF was the audio source defined in the MythTV settings via the frontend. I tried testing sound by playing an Apple movie trailer (my only option right now because I also can't seem to "watch TV" with the tuner, but that's for a separate thread). No sound.

Obviously, I'd strongly prefer audio via HDMI, but S/PDIF would be an acceptable workaround. Any help getting either of these working would be greatly appreciated.

I'm running Mythbuntu 8.10 with the aforementioned Intel-based motherboard and ATI/AMD video card.

bimbot
January 23rd, 2009, 07:45 AM
I have the same vid card chip; different manufacturer. If I get it working, I'll definitely post back in here.

So far, I've only done the basics: unmute in alsamixer, update alsa to 1.0.19....still, no sound.....will update as I go along.

zim2dive
February 3rd, 2009, 02:44 PM
I have the same vid card chip; different manufacturer. If I get it working, I'll definitely post back in here.

So far, I've only done the basics: unmute in alsamixer, update alsa to 1.0.19....still, no sound.....will update as I go along.

I just got a 3450 hoping to work around a bug in the nvidia 8200 IGP on my mobo.

I have sound working over the 3450 HDMI for everything EXCEPT Flash (go figure).

What does aplay -l tell you? My .asoundrc is
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 0
device 3
}