PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Azurewave AW-NU221 usb wirless adapter

maroo1
January 11th, 2009, 04:30 PM
Hi...
First things first, im am complete noob with linux/ubuntu, but I am okay at windows. I have done a new installation of 8.10 on my single hd (no dual boot or anything, ubuntu is my only os). Most of the stuff has been working fine BUT my usb wifi adapter hasnt been picked up by ubuntu. I do have a cd with the windows driver, but the cd does not contain the specfic sys and inf files- it has an exe which installs a utility which installs the driver(windows only). I tried running the cd through wine but but doesnt work with it properly. I have managed to get a file callled rt2870.sys which is the driver being used in xp for this device. However this does not work with ndiskwrapper via the windows wireless drivers program.
I know this will not be easy to get working as it is not a very popular device... but i hope someone can give me step by step detailed instructions as to how to get this working. ( I have currently have a ethernet cable running from downstairs, out the garden and through my bedroom window into my pc - not a long term solution)
Any help is much appreciated
Jay

maroo1
January 11th, 2009, 05:29 PM
Update:
Found the appropriate inf file
used it on windows wirless driver utility (rt2870: hardware present: yes
When i press the configure network button it says "Could not find a network configuration tool."

maroo1
January 11th, 2009, 07:28 PM
So i got past the "could not find network configuration tool" by installing gnome network manager
But now when i click on configure network in the wireless network drivers program, a new window opens called network settings but everything is greyed out and unchangeable - the only thing i can do in that window is press the close or help button?

maroo1
January 12th, 2009, 03:22 AM
please help

kayvortex
January 17th, 2010, 02:23 AM