PDA

View Full Version : Language proficiency and computer use

matthew
December 14th, 2005, 07:39 PM
I needed a break from working so I thought I would ramble briefly about somthing that I was thinking about earlier today. Please chime in with your thoughts. For my friend aysiu I will add a poll as well. :)

I am a bit of an amateur linguist. I enjoy language, but I especially enjoy learning new ways to communicate. I have also noticed that many people in the science/technology world seem to share this trait, especially research, programming, and power user types.

I am curious to know about the trends in the general Ubuntu population. For the sake of the poll, if you have studied the subject in any real way, whether formally or informally, regardless of your level of confidence in your skills, please feel free to count your experience as valid. Also, if you have a minute I would love to read longer responses, but that's up to you.

Here's the question:
What are the various means of communication you have studied or learned?

You can vote for more than one option!!! Please mark all that apply.

Obviously I know my native language, English.

I have studied Spanish, French, the Moroccan dialect of Arabic, and international standard Arabic. I know a few words/phrases in other languages as well.

I can read music (although my ear is faster and better than trying to sight-read) and sing a little. I play guitar (electric and acoustic), bass and am learning the mandolin. I am fascinated by the differences in Western and Arabic music. I still can't consistently play or sing a scale with 1/4 steps in it. :)