PDA

View Full Version : What has using ubuntu taught you?

mamamia88
January 9th, 2009, 03:52 PM
using ubuntu has taught me to actually address my problems rather than restarting my computer and hoping they magically go away what about you?

MikeTheC
January 9th, 2009, 05:11 PM
Taught? Nothing.

Demonstrated? That "desktop" Linux is viable.

Bölvağur
January 9th, 2009, 05:44 PM
It has though me a lot which ranges from dark corners of mbr to the glorious heavens of gnu/linux.

cookieofdoom
January 9th, 2009, 05:53 PM
I learned that my computer is much more useful to me when it does what I tell it to do, I hate watching Windows guess what I want it to do and get it wrong 93% of the time.

Joeb454
January 9th, 2009, 05:55 PM
I've learnt all sorts. I've become pretty quick at using the CLI now too....though I'm still learning :)

malspa
January 9th, 2009, 06:01 PM
That GNOME isn't as bad as some people say.

cmay
that a computer can be programmed. before i started using linux(ubuntu) i only used a computer for writing a letter once in a while and print it. i used to hate computers and the internet before i started to use linux. i found out that i have strong feelings about the free software commmunity and i found that i am as a computer user more a political individual than just a computer user. i also found out how to make a program and that there is more than just compiled languages to choose from :)

i also found that the internet is not all evil after all. as long as i can apt-get something i guess its not all that bad.

ThePinkPoo
Patience is a big one. But I am now a lot better at troubleshooting errors with google and what not.

Messyhair42
January 9th, 2009, 06:16 PM
that an OS can have a community that is dedicated to it's users and that messing with the things that make the computer run isn't that hard and can lead to a better computing experience

bsharp
January 9th, 2009, 06:17 PM
Too much to put here, so you'll have to take my word that its alot.