PDA

View Full Version : 2D graphics in Linux - Cairo?

spupy
January 9th, 2009, 01:14 PM
Hi fellow Linux users.
I'm interested in doing some simple 2D graphics programming. What I want is to be able to draw things directly on the screen (not in a window) or in full screen. Something looking like cairo/awn/whatever dock, desktop widgets, gnome-do, etc.

After reading for a while it seems that Cairo is a very good choice. Are there any other good options?
I'm a little familiar with Cairo since I used to tinker with two gtk engines that used it for drawing widgets.

Also, what language would be best? From the languages I know Java is out of the question (i know it best but not a huge fan); C looks perfect for this project. I see Cairo has bindings for python - I would like to try that as well since I started playing with python some time ago. Is there any speed penalty when using python instead of C? (C being the "native" language of Cairo)

P.S.: Since compositing is not obligatory for cairo-dock, I guess it isn't necessary for cairo at all?

Kilon
January 9th, 2009, 01:29 PM
Hi fellow Linux users.
I'm interested in doing some simple 2D graphics programming. What I want is to be able to draw things directly on the screen (not in a window) or in full screen. Something looking like cairo/awn/whatever dock, desktop widgets, gnome-do, etc.

After reading for a while it seems that Cairo is a very good choice. Are there any other good options?
I'm a little familiar with Cairo since I used to tinker with two gtk engines that used it for drawing widgets.

Also, what language would be best? From the languages I know Java is out of the question (i know it best but not a huge fan); C looks perfect for this project. I see Cairo has bindings for python - I would like to try that as well since I started playing with python some time ago. Is there any speed penalty when using python instead of C? (C being the "native" language of Cairo)