PDA

View Full Version : Best languge to learn with in Ubuntu? Python or PHP?

mathewb1
January 8th, 2009, 11:09 AM
Hi all,

Im wondering where the best place to start with programming would be? (Broad question I know).

I worked in IT for years as a BA/Tester/Documenter, and had to write simple scripts in PERL. Moved away from that and have now started working as a primary techer.

When i worked in IT I was able to read quite complex code other people had written and understand what they were trying to do, the structures and abstractions seem to jump out of the page at me. When i try to write stuff however (like "hello world" in C++) it takes me hours (literally!).

I was thinking maybe starting with Python or PHP, for n other reason than they are popular and are able to fit in nicley with some HTML pages im building.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Thanks,
MathewB.

mike_g
January 8th, 2009, 11:12 AM
Well, Python would make a better general purpose language.

ghostdog74
January 8th, 2009, 11:47 AM
.. Able to fit in nicley with some html pages im building.
php.

joshmuffin
January 8th, 2009, 11:50 AM
Python is easy with easy syntax, php is apparently easier.
I've only used python but I love it.
If you do decide python download "snake wrangling for kids"
It's a pdf guide, there's a version written for Linux.

Mickeysofine1972
January 8th, 2009, 11:51 AM
Well I would agree with both of the previous responses, HOWEVER :D

If your wanting to develop stand alone apps then Python is my choice, but for web apps PHP

Well thats my 2p anyway :D

Mike

mike_g
January 8th, 2009, 12:27 PM
>>.. Able to fit in nicley with some html pages im building.
php.
I would have reccomended PHP for websites too, but as I havent used python for web development yet I dident.

Kilon
January 8th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Hi all,

Im wondering where the best place to start with programming would be? (Broad question I know).