PDA

View Full Version : Electric usage question



MaindotC
January 6th, 2009, 04:49 PM
I'm in an apartment with fairly old wiring. The other day I was putting too much load on one outlet and it blew the fuse at the electric box down in the basement.

1. Is there some way to determine which outlets are on the same circuit? (Landlord doesn't know)

2. Is there a way to determine how much load I can place on each outlet or circuit before the fuse blows?

Thanks!

Skripka
January 6th, 2009, 04:53 PM
I'm in an apartment with fairly old wiring. The other day I was putting too much load on one outlet and it blew the fuse at the electric box down in the basement.

1. Is there some way to determine which outlets are on the same circuit? (Landlord doesn't know)

2. Is there a way to determine how much load I can place on each outlet or circuit before the fuse blows?

Thanks!

The fact that the landlord does not know is BAD. That means he hasn't been doing his job.


If there is no wiring diagram in the breaker panel--the only way to figure it out is by throwing each breaker and looking around to see what does not work, break by breaker-outlet by outlet.

MaindotC
January 6th, 2009, 05:09 PM
The fact that the landlord does not know is BAD. That means he hasn't been doing his job.

I'm in central NY - that's the norm up here. You should hear my gf go on and on about how horrible it is that the landlord doesn't provide everything under the sun whereas I'm just happy to have a place to stay and sleep.

Thanks and I'll see if I can access the breaker box or have him shut the breakers on/off to determine which is which. Any advice on determining the load?

Skripka
January 6th, 2009, 05:19 PM
I'm in central NY - that's the norm up here. You should hear my gf go on and on about how horrible it is that the landlord doesn't provide everything under the sun whereas I'm just happy to have a place to stay and sleep.

Thanks and I'll see if I can access the breaker box or have him shut the breakers on/off to determine which is which. Any advice on determining the load?


Oh, I did my undergraduate work in upstate NY, so I know a fair amount about how prickish they can be.

Breakers are labeled as to the load spec....for fuses, rule of thumb is take the gauge of the wire, and add 1--hence a 14 gauge wire needs a 15Amp fuse-this presumes that there is nothing written on the fuse regarding rating.

lukjad007
January 6th, 2009, 05:24 PM
1. Is there some way to determine which outlets are on the same circuit? (Landlord doesn't know)

Most bedroom circuits in an old house will be on the same circuit. I think that there must be some building plans somewhere, maybe at the city, or by contacting the contractor?


2. Is there a way to determine how much load I can place on each outlet or circuit before the fuse blows?

I believe that the fuse itself should make how much it can take.

mips
January 6th, 2009, 05:28 PM
Originally Posted by strAlan http://ubuntuforums.org/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6504131#post6504131)
1. Is there some way to determine which outlets are on the same circuit? (Landlord doesn't know)
http://www.contractor-books.com/Circuit_Tracers.htm
http://www.askmehelpdesk.com/electrical-lighting/proper-way-trace-electrical-circuits-16082.html
http://www.powerhousetv.com/stellent2/groups/public/documents/pub/phtv_sa_el_000325.hcsp#P24_2135



Originally Posted by strAlan http://ubuntuforums.org/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6504131#post6504131)
2. Is there a way to determine how much load I can place on each outlet or circuit before the fuse blows?

Check the fuse rating and don't exceed the rating. We don't have fuses here but suspect they would be the same as circuit breakers when it comes to load.

MaindotC
January 6th, 2009, 06:00 PM
I think that there must be some building plans somewhere, maybe at the city, or by contacting the contractor?

Google Maps: Morrisville, NY - doubt they keep those type of records but I will see what I can find.


I believe that the fuse itself should make how much it can take.
This definitely makes sense so I'll ask the landlord what wattage the breakers are.


http://www.contractor-books.com/Circuit_Tracers.htm
http://www.askmehelpdesk.com/electrical-lighting/proper-way-trace-electrical-circuits-16082.html
http://www.powerhousetv.com/stellent2/groups/public/documents/pub/phtv_sa_el_000325.hcsp#P24_2135

Thanks for chipping in. I'll take a look at those after work.