PDA

View Full Version : Programming question

Mantanas
January 6th, 2009, 12:01 AM
First of all, hello. I'm a novice computer user and i'm interested about computer programing. I just want someone to point me to the right direction. For example what programing language should I learn? Should I go on the web side(php/html/xhtml/css) or desktop side(c/c++...etc...). Sorry but I don't have any experiences regarding this subject and I could use some help.
Many thanks!

Taidgh
January 6th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Web development can be seen as a whole other area, and languages like html and css are generally not seen as true programming languages. If you want to get into the 'desktop' side of programming, which this forum is dedicated to, I suggest a language such as Python (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Python). It is used as an introductory language for many people, and is effective, IMHO. Languages like C++ tend to introduce concepts that a novice cannot fully grasp early on. A good beginner's tutorial using Python can be found here: www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/alan.gauld/
Once you go through that tutorial, or a similar one, it should be easier to decide where to go next with your programming. And you should understand the fundamental concepts of all (imperative) programming languages, making it easier to learn new ones.

Mantanas
January 6th, 2009, 12:25 AM
Thank you very much!:KS

Taidgh
January 6th, 2009, 12:30 AM
No problem. Would you mind giving me my first thank (the little button on the post)?
/thankwhore

Mantanas
January 6th, 2009, 12:40 AM
Not at all, I was so amazed. I got a reply very quick...and helped me a lot. I will focus on Python and later see what programing language I will adopt. Many thanks again, if you have other things to say, some advices...etc...please tell me. I want to make something very serious out of this, and since I don't have experience like other have...some advices, hints, tips..would be awesome.

mike_g
January 6th, 2009, 12:58 AM