PDA

View Full Version : The future of Open Office in doubt?

Donalb
January 5th, 2009, 05:35 PM
On Digg the other day I came across a link to this post;
http://www.gnome.org/~michael/blog/ooo-commit-stats-2008.html
about the lack of developers working on OOo,
and another on Cnet discussing those same findings
http://news.cnet.com/8301-13505_3-10129764-16.html?part=rss

I'm new to Linux myself, less than a year, and using OOo more since I went 100% Ubuntu.
We've seen plenty of new people, like myself, comparing MS Office & OOo. (My own problem was the ugliness of the GUI compared even to OfficeXP.)
Those comments are often disregarded in various ways, from aggressive point to point comparisons to the usual "hey it's free" retort.

Regardless of these debates, the above post on the devs actively working OOo is worrying and explains a lot why OOo seems to move slowly (or not at all in certain areas, especially to us Ubuntu users who are getting professional 6 monthly rollovers from Canonical.
It would seem to me that the only way to halt this slide would be in the way Canonical & Debian have tried to come together. (Granted that's from my reading of the historical divergences/convergences of Debian/Canonical).
Hoping that somehow Sun decide to throw more resources OOo's way or that a slew of new devs come on board (not a coder myself) seems naive.
An extension though of the alliance between Debian & Canonical to include Sun seems a more worthy idea. After all, without a comprehensive <AND DEVELOPING> iterative Office package, we cannot expect a continued increase in the supply of new users. (I'm not saying numbers will slow in short term, they won't). OOe seems to me as ESSENTIAL though to the success of Linux as the huge improvement in the Installer or LiveCDs.

That said though, I myself can't contribute anything to the project other than converting people I know to Ubuntu or discussing it so this should be interpreted, if possible, as a positive post!
Regards,