PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Updates did something....

PanicIRAQ
January 5th, 2009, 04:58 AM
Hey there, I'm a noob to ubuntu (or rather linux in general). Anyways, I have recently installed Wubi and thus ubuntu linux and everything was going good until I tried to install flash and get the 213 updates that ubuntu told me I had ready to install. I found a bunch of guides for installing flash and they half worked; youtube videos now show a gray box where the video is supposed to be where before it said i needed to install flash. That was my first issue, however I downloaded all of the updates figuring that that issue would be fixed and instead I can not connect to the internet at all. Can anyone help?

Bucky Ball
January 5th, 2009, 05:01 AM
It may have something to do with the fact that you are using a wubi install, and not an install on dedicated partition. Not sure.

PanicIRAQ
January 5th, 2009, 05:06 AM
It may have something to do with the fact that you are using a wubi install, and not an install on dedicated partition. Not sure.

Alright thanks. Yeah I have been a Windows user for years now and I'm slowly trying to make the move to Linux. That's why I liked the Wubi installer so that I can run both. Is there anyway that I can reverse these updates either from ubuntu or from my Windows?

Bucky Ball
January 5th, 2009, 05:14 AM
Not having much experience with wubi installs, I'm not sure, but there would definitely be a way of uninstalling it. Have you tried going to Settings/Control Panel/Add/Remove Applications (I think) and unistalling it from there? Apparently that is the way.