PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Heron to Ibex?

craxy890
January 4th, 2009, 08:48 PM
(Sorry in advance if this is in the wrong area, but it seems like a pretty general question, not requiring specific support.)

I just recently ordered a Dell Ubuntu system some 5 minutes ago. I noticed that I could only order with Hardy Heron, not Intrepid Ibex, since the former is the LTS option. I'm new to Linux (I operate Vista at home and XP at work) and wondered if upgrading to 8.10 is advisable right out of the box. From what I've read in the release notes, it's mainly upgraded driver support and mobility options. Since I already have a functional (for Vista standards) Vista Laptop on the go, I opted for a Linux desktop PC. I don't need any of the mobility options, and drivers should be supported (I'd hope) since Dell has manufactured this computer for Ubuntu. Should I upgrade right away anyway?

Also, I've started bookmarking pages of software, or procedures I should start with to hit the ground running when I get my order in the mail. I'll continue looking, but if anyone wants to provide any links or suggestions to what they consider important, I'm all ears--or eyes, I guess in this case. Thanks in advance, even if it is just to redirect me to an appropriate area to ask these questions.

gettinoriginal
January 4th, 2009, 09:06 PM
My advice would be to stick with Hardy since it will be totally configured with hardware and drivers. Once you get it, spend time researching via (advanced search) your hardware to see if it is supported in Ibex. Some great reading is here for beginners:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=801404
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=809695

Spr0k3t
January 4th, 2009, 09:10 PM