PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partitioning after booting from USB

knottshawk
January 4th, 2009, 03:03 PM
I have an Eee PC with a 160gb hdd, which is divided equally into a C and D drive with Win XP on the C. I'm wanting to dual boot it and have some questions. When I boot from USB the partitioner tries to install to USB, thinking it's a HDD. So, I'm guessing I'll have to set it up manually but, being a noob, I'm not sure how. I looked at the manual settings and it shows sda1 and sda2 installing to C and D, but I don't know how to tell it to only install to D.

Please give me some guidance and tell me if I'm making any other large mistakes along the way due to my noobishness.

knottshawk
January 4th, 2009, 10:59 PM
I just need help manually partitioning... can't anyone help me with this?

knottshawk
January 5th, 2009, 07:41 PM
Help please?

Bucky Ball
January 5th, 2009, 07:46 PM
If you are getting to the partitioning section of the install, go for manual partitioning and leave the NTFS drive alone, then just install on the D partition. If I am understanding you correctly.

knottshawk
January 5th, 2009, 08:58 PM
Yeah that's right except I need to know HOW. I'm a noob and so I'm a bit lost. If I recall correctly it looks something like this:
sda1 - 6100MB
sda2 - 7100MB

So, I don't know what 'sda1' is, but it seems to be the C drive and 'sda2' is the D drive. How do I tell it where to install?

Sorry for the noobish questions... In the past I've not manually installed.

Bucky Ball
January 6th, 2009, 02:11 AM
That's fine. Are you using the desktop install or the alternate? I guess it would be the alternate for the Eee. A tip: sda1 = hd(0,0), sda2 = hd(0,1)