PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] USB live: how to restart or remember changes

MxM111
January 3rd, 2009, 10:27 PM
Hello!
Forgive me for being complete noob, I am new to Linux, I am trying Ubuntu on my Dell XPS laptop and I decided to try it with USB install.

I have used UNnetbutin to create USB live drive. And it works. It starts and gets into desktop.

However there is no internet, not wired, not wireless. The wired and wireless options under computer icon on top right corner of the screen are grayed out. When I check drivers in the settings, some drivers are said to be disabled, because they are proprietary or something like that. According to their name they are related to wireless adapter, so I want to enable them. When I enable one shows "Downloading" and then "installing" but it stays disabled and I do not have internet connection, so I do not know how it can download anything, but another driver enabling asks for restart to enable it.

So here is a problem. As I understand I am in live session, whatever it means, so after restart I am back to exactly the same state, i.e. no changes are saved and the drivers are not enabled again. How do I fix this? Should I create new user or something? How do I boot into that user? How do I create a new user? Will it remember my changes like enabling drivers?

The important part for me is not to change the way computer behaves without Ubuntu USB, so I do not want to use hard drive for anything.

Can somebody help me? I am lost here.
Thank you in advance.

MxM111
January 4th, 2009, 08:00 AM
bump

Just-trevor
January 4th, 2009, 09:31 AM
A Live Session is when you run Ubuntu with something other than your Hard Drive, like a USB flash drive or a CD. It doesn't effect the computer at all, and when you take the flash drive or CD out your computer is exactly the way you left it. To save the changes, you have to install Ubuntu on your laptop, which you really shouldn't do until you are sure it will work.