PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] why is ubuntu 8.10 so slow ?



smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 05:43 PM
here are my specs:

HP Pavilion dv6809wm Entertainment Notebook :
AMD Turion 64X2 2.0GHz.
Nvidia Geforce 7150m
4GB DDR2 Ram
320GB Hard Drive
Atheros AR5007 802.11 b/g

this is really getting old too, doesn't matter what distro i use, ubuntu, kubuntu, xubuntu it just drags. web browsing is slow and the overall system performance is slow as a snail. with my specs it should be flying man.

the only tweak i did was by disabling ipv6 and that wouldn't affect system performance. even windows 7 beta is 10x faster and im not here to bash anything.

i need some advice before i give up on linux for good. :(

taurus
January 3rd, 2009, 05:45 PM
Slow as in performing or slow as in graphic? Have you installed an nvidia driver for your graphic card, System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers?

Paqman
January 3rd, 2009, 05:46 PM
It shouldn't be slow on that system. Have you installed the graphics drivers?

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 05:48 PM
It shouldn't be slow on that system. Have you installed the graphics drivers?

yes i installed the restricted nvidia drivers.

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 05:54 PM
it really is frustrating man, i love linux but this is crazy anymore.

can anybody give me some advice ?

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 05:55 PM
Slow as in performing or slow as in graphic? Have you installed an nvidia driver for your graphic card, System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers?

overall all performance and web surfing too. i have zero issues in vista & windows 7 beta.

taurus
January 3rd, 2009, 06:00 PM
Are you running x86 or x86_64 version?

Did you install Ubuntu on it own partition or did you use wubi?

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:01 PM
Are you running x86 or x86_64 version?

Did you install Ubuntu on it own partition or did you use wubi?

x86 and yes its on it's own partition.

taurus
January 3rd, 2009, 06:09 PM
What are the outputs of these commands from a terminal?


sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
df -h
free -m

joukez
January 3rd, 2009, 06:12 PM
Try; sudo gedit /etc/hosts
Then you see a file like this:
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.1.1 ubuntu

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

Change it in to this:
127.0.0.1 localhost ubuntu
127.0.1.1 ubuntu

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

Ubuntu is the name of my box.

sadaruwan12
January 3rd, 2009, 06:15 PM
Try installing x86_64 with your system I think it might solve your problem

AlexBellisBrown
January 3rd, 2009, 06:20 PM
Try installing x86_64 with your system I think it might solve your problem

What is that? Surely 64bit is whats needed. What does x86 mean? :confused:

taurus
January 3rd, 2009, 06:20 PM
What is that? Surely 64bit is whats needed. What does x86 mean? :confused:

32bit.

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:21 PM
What are the outputs of these commands from a terminal?


sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
df -h
free -m


Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xe78ced41

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 28715 230648824 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 28715 34213 44161016 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 34214 34279 530145 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda4 34280 38913 37222605 83 Linux


/etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda4
UUID=ade9e6bc-c843-4044-b1c3-bacdf6cfa1ea / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda3
UUID=208c125b-629d-49f1-8fa7-62ac2db84b6b none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0


Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda4 35G 3.8G 30G 12% /
tmpfs 1.5G 0 1.5G 0% /lib/init/rw
varrun 1.5G 208K 1.5G 1% /var/run
varlock 1.5G 0 1.5G 0% /var/lock
udev 1.5G 2.7M 1.5G 1% /dev
tmpfs 1.5G 132K 1.5G 1% /dev/shm

total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 3039 859 2179 0 58 404
-/+ buffers/cache: 397 2641
Swap: 517 0 517

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:22 PM
Try installing x86_64 with your system I think it might solve your problem

ive done x64 before and still had issues, all it would allow ubuntu to do is see the full 4gb of ram.

sadaruwan12
January 3rd, 2009, 06:26 PM
ive done x64 before and still had issues, all it would allow ubuntu to do is see the full 4gb of ram.
You mean same kind of issuse like you're having right now or some other stuff

AlexBellisBrown
January 3rd, 2009, 06:29 PM
32bit.

Thanks, would never have guessed x86 meant 32 bit :popcorn::D

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:31 PM
You mean same kind of issuse like you're having right now or some other stuff

same, slow

that's why it's frustrating.

AlexBellisBrown
January 3rd, 2009, 06:33 PM
same, slow

that's why it's frustrating.

If you look in system moniter when your using your computer, what kind of work its your CPU doing? What percent is it running at? Idle?:popcorn:

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:36 PM
If you look in system moniter when your using your computer, what kind of work its your CPU doing? What percent is it running at? Idle?:popcorn:

right now cpu 1 is at 10% cpu 2 is at 20%

AlexBellisBrown
January 3rd, 2009, 06:39 PM
right now cpu 1 is at 10% cpu 2 is at 20%

Then it shouldnt be running "slow". And how much RAM is being used?

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 06:43 PM
Then it shouldnt be running "slow". And how much RAM is being used?

339mb out of 3gb

honestly i have 4gb installed but im running an x86 system.

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 07:03 PM
so nobody has any ideas as to whats going on ?

DforVendetta
January 3rd, 2009, 07:20 PM
I am using x64

2.4 ghz quad core
6 gigs of ram

My box is blazing fast.

teh_yodeler
January 3rd, 2009, 07:40 PM
I'd say try the 64 bit version as well... My laptop has a 1.8 ghz dual core processor and 2gb ram. It blows me back in my seat it's so fast :guitar:

If that doesn't work maybe your computer just doesn't like ubuntu:confused::confused::confused:

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 07:44 PM
I'd say try the 64 bit version as well... My laptop has a 1.8 ghz dual core processor and 2gb ram. It blows me back in my seat it's so fast :guitar:

If that doesn't work maybe your computer just doesn't like ubuntu:confused::confused::confused:

i honestly don't see how x64 is going to help ? even with 3gb of ram it should be fast. i also don't feel like formatting again either.

i agree about my laptop maybe not playing nice with linux. :confused:

teh_yodeler
January 3rd, 2009, 07:47 PM
Hmm... have you tried another, similar-load linux distro? Maybe Mandriva or Fedora?

I wonder if it would be the same with those?

Oh I just thought of a good one - if you feel like it, install XFCE and use that for your session. That wouldn't require a reformat. I just did it the other day, and I like it a lot.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/xfce

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 07:50 PM
Hmm... have you tried another, similar-load linux distro? Maybe Mandriva or Fedora?

I wonder if it would be the same with those?

Oh I just thought of a good one - if you feel like it, install XFCE and use that for your session. That wouldn't require a reformat. I just did it the other day, and I like it a lot.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/xfce

i tried mandriva before, didn't like it, much different than ubuntu. i just wish i could get my current install to work properly, i have it looking just the way i want it. i guess i could try xubuntu x64 but the themes suck for it.

DarkDancer
January 3rd, 2009, 07:52 PM
Actually he said you computer may not play nice with Ubuntu. If no one can come up with a solution, I would try another distro myself. My fried had to do that. Ubuntu and his computer were on shaky terms at best. So he tried Mint, that was better, but then he tried (among other things mind you, he tried a lot of distros just to play with them) Siddux and he likes it. It actually works well on his computer, has a rolling release (he doesn't have to chage every 6 months) and, it's Debian, so he knows the basic architecture of the system.

Just a reminder that just because Ubuntu may not work for you, no reason to scrap Linux in general.

teh_yodeler
January 3rd, 2009, 07:57 PM
The xfce option man... Try the xfce option

Definitely no reason to scrap linux in general.

I liked dreamlinux (which it xfce also)

Copernicus1234
January 3rd, 2009, 08:00 PM
I think we need some real numbers here. How long does it take you to load the browser? To load ubuntu forums? To reply to a thread?

Firefox in Ubuntu can be slower to start than Internet Explorer in Windows since IE preloads with Windows, but that just shortens the startup time. For browsing, Firefox should always be faster.

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 08:11 PM
The xfce option man... Try the xfce option

Definitely no reason to scrap linux in general.

I liked dreamlinux (which it xfce also)

i may try linux mint or xubuntu x64 later.

smooth3006
January 3rd, 2009, 08:12 PM
I think we need some real numbers here. How long does it take you to load the browser? To load ubuntu forums? To reply to a thread?

Firefox in Ubuntu can be slower to start than Internet Explorer in Windows since IE preloads with Windows, but that just shortens the startup time. For browsing, Firefox should always be faster.

its not just about the Internet speeds, it's the overall lagging performance of the operating system.

zietbukuel
January 17th, 2009, 03:50 AM
Whats the output of "top" (without quotes)?

airbornemist6
January 19th, 2009, 09:36 AM
I have just about the same problem.

Setup:

AMD Phenom X4 @ 3.0GHz
4GB RAM
64GB Ubuntu Partition
nVidia GeForce 9600GT (latest drivers)


Most of my problem is just with Firefox. Firefox is so ridiculously slow it's hard to do anything these days. I tried living in Ubuntu for 3 days... couldn't take it, had to reinstall Vista 64-bit. It was THAT bad.

On another note, I can boot off of my FSF membership card into gFreeSense. It works worlds faster than Ubuntu. It's using Icecat though, which is actually Firefox as well, but either way, it technically shouldn't be going that much faster.