PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Accessing the usb device status info

nevinalex1234
January 3rd, 2009, 03:25 PM
I want to get access to the status and the information of the optical mouse i have connected....I am studying this method to get USB data later....

i typed the following in the terminal

tec@tec-laptop:/dev/input$ ls
by-id event0 event10 event3 event5 event7 event9 mouse0 mouse2
by-path event1 event2 event4 event6 event8 mice mouse1
tec@tec-laptop:/dev/input$ sudo vi mouse1

1)but it seems mouse1 is not a file.....infact i cant open any of them ...i tried the CAT command also but it is getting stuck.......??

2) what are the other "mouse" ?? i have connected only 1 usb device the optical mouse and a usb modem..what are the rest?? what do they stand for ??
are they standard system files???
how do i know which is the file concerning the optical mouse ???

3)When i browsed through window ....i got the details of the input...

the event is of the type - character device
the mouse is of the type - character device

How do i access the information ??? it shows 0 bytes in the properties..

I would be really gratedfull if somebody could help me out on this

Thanking You:(

nevinalex1234
January 3rd, 2009, 04:15 PM
PLS help me !!!

nevinalex1234
January 4th, 2009, 06:23 AM
nobody replied ???

namdung
January 4th, 2009, 08:41 AM
lsusb

MenZa
January 4th, 2009, 08:44 AM
It depends what you mean by "USB data" - if you want to know what USB devices are connected, type the following in a terminal:

lsusb

anewguy
January 4th, 2009, 09:27 AM
You may need to open them as serial devices, but libusb is going to be the way to really read that information. The runtime for libusb is installed by default, but you need to install the development package and the docs, then read the docs. You will also need to know some of the technical specifications for your devices or it will be useless.

Dave :)

nevinalex1234
January 4th, 2009, 10:20 AM