PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Java instllation fails

sp_key
January 2nd, 2009, 06:00 PM
Hi all,

First, happy new year to all of you!

I have just installed Ubuntu on my old laptop for the first time. I am a complete beginner with linux.

I have tried unsuccessfully to install Java in order to play online chess at yahoo.

At my first attempt, I managed to unpack a bin file downloaded from Sun Java at my Desktop. I Run the executable from my Terminal and it all looked like it was installed properly. (Agreed to Licence and so on) but still Yahoo games fail to load due to lack of Java. Now I cannot delete the folder I unpacked as I have no right permissions.

At my second attempt I tried to install Java by running following command: sudo apt-get install sun-java6-plugin sun-java6-jre at my Terminal. Again, all looked ok until I try to load games from yahoo.

Third attempt was by adding Java through the Add/Remove option. This time I get this error: E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

Obviously this means nothing to me :)

Any ideas?

Many thanks in advance.

taurus
January 2nd, 2009, 06:10 PM
Just run

sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get update

Moop
January 2nd, 2009, 06:11 PM
Run the command it suggests with a sudo in front of it.

sudo dpkg --configure -aHave you installed the ubuntu restricted extras package? I believe it includes java.

sp_key
January 2nd, 2009, 10:13 PM
Hi,

thanks for your quick response. I've tried both suggestion codes and even though they run fine on Terminal, Java is still not installed properly as Yahoo games still refuse to work on my Firefox.

Furthermore, the unpacked folder on my Desktop (from first attempt) still cannot be deleted due to permissions restrictions.

Any ideas how to undue all this mess and install Java properly?

Thanks.

bump_
January 2nd, 2009, 10:39 PM