PDA

View Full Version : PHP n00b (a couple of questions)

thefiestysoldier
January 2nd, 2009, 02:51 AM
I am a noobish php programmer, I have read a couple of books but they dont cover the google apis (which I would like to use) I keep hearing Zend and things like that but the descriptions on the internet are too hard to understand (for me anyways) from what I understand about the zend framework it appears to be quite useful but I dont know how to use it. I have been using the Geany IDE so far but I also hear about Eclipse PDT often (its an IDE right?)anyway heres the main questions:

How do I set up my server to use the google api libraries for my scripts?
What can I do with the Zend framework (what exactly is it?)
How do I install the Zend framework on my server?
How do i install Eclipse PDT
Also, I have heard you can program GTK/QT/CLI apps with PHP, is it really worth it/ useful?

Any responses are greatly appreciated, Thanks

ghostdog74
January 2nd, 2009, 03:12 AM
How much of PHP fundamentals do you know? I would suggest you study and practice thoroughly the basics of PHP before embarking on advanced topics.

LinuxRocks713
January 24th, 2009, 01:11 AM
Also, I have heard you can program GTK/QT/CLI apps with PHP, is it really worth it/ useful?

For PHP CLI and GTK apps you can use PHP-GTK2 (http://gtk.php.net/). If you are planning on making an .exe file out of it, here's an useful guide:

http://www.compdigitec.com/labs/2008/07/20/compiling-php-gtk2-apps-into-win32-executables/

drumz
January 24th, 2009, 02:01 AM
Answering question number 4:

At work we used the commercial PHP IDE that the Zend company has, and it worked really, really well. Then they switched it from a completely custom program to one based off of Eclipse (PDT is the open source free version lacking a few features) which we found to be slightly buggy (but has improved) so we decided to just switch over to using Eclipse + the PDT PHP plug-in.