PDA

View Full Version : Encouraging new programmers?

MattBD
January 1st, 2009, 04:38 PM
Ever since I first started using Ubuntu last year, it's reawakened my interest in programming which hadn't stirred since I had my Amstrad CPC when I was a kid. I'm currently learning Python, and I also have plans to learn a few more languages (possibly PHP and Java).

I've found Linux in general, and Ubuntu in particular, to be a very good environment in which to learn more about programming - it includes a lot of documentation, such as the Dive Into Python book, and loads of cool development tools, and I really think Linux does a lot to encourage people to take more of an interest in how their computer works.

So I was thinking - what can be done to encourage more people to take an interest in programming?

Microsoft, to their credit, do have some pretty decent resources for new programmers. For the absolute beginner, SmallBasic isn't a bad way to get started, and Visual Studio Express Edition does enable you to get started quite quickly at creating graphical applications. I've been tinkering with Visual C# the past few days and I have to admit I am impressed. They also do have pretty good tutorials for it. XNA also looks quite promising as a way for hobbyists to create their own games easily.

However, they don't exactly go out of their way to make these resources obvious to people. Maybe if PC vendors preinstalled Visual Studio Express Edition, along with a PDF tutorial or two it would encourage more people to learn about programming.

Also, I personally dislike IDE's - it's bad enough learning a programming language without having to learn a complex IDE at the same time.