PDA

View Full Version : New to Linux, where to next?

chamber
December 31st, 2008, 07:39 PM
I'm quite new to Linux (8.04 being my first stab at it) I absolutely love it and can't go back to windows now.

I have recently acquired an old laptop of my fiancée and was considering trying out Arch and openbox on it, is this a good idea? Is Arch difficult for a modest noob like myself or would I be able to use it as a good learning curve?

I would be interested in finding out what people think, would anyone recommend another direction?

Just for a bit of info the laptop is a 3/4 year old dell inspiron 1200, I am going to add more RAM and a larger hard drive to it as at the minute it's running like a 90 year old asthmatic in a 100m sprint.

damis648
December 31st, 2008, 07:43 PM
I think for a beginner Arch is probably not the best option. There's a lot of configuring and other things that can be a challenge for beginners. If you want to explore more of the linux world, have a look at maybe OpenSuSe, PCLinuxOS, Fedora, or maybe just an Ubuntu derivative.

PS. Welcome to the community!

Yes
December 31st, 2008, 07:47 PM
I would read through the Beginner Guide on the Arch wiki to see if you understand it. If you do, I would just try Arch. Worst comes to worst you give up and put something easier on it.

Rokurosv
December 31st, 2008, 08:05 PM
If you're comfortable in a terminal and now how to navigate the directories you'll be fine, the beginner's guide is very handy and is also included in the installation CD.

Pogeymanz
December 31st, 2008, 08:10 PM
I'm quite new to Linux (8.04 being my first stab at it) I absolutely love it and can't go back to windows now.

I have recently acquired an old laptop of my fiancée and was considering trying out Arch and openbox on it, is this a good idea? Is Arch difficult for a modest noob like myself or would I be able to use it as a good learning curve?