PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Clean Install help, Old HP won't boot from CD/ROM

phantom1121
December 31st, 2008, 07:25 PM
Hello all,

Newbie here and I'm completely lost.. So I downloaded ubuntu to my laptop, not for the laptop, but ended up partitioning my laptop for it anyways. I think it's great and had no problems at all installing it on my laptop but my mothers desktop is the problem, when I download ubuntu, I originally downloaded it for her desktop as her XP disk got scratched, personally I like linux better anyways. Anyways so here's the problem, I have her desktop set up to boot from the CD drive, I know the ubuntu disk I burned is good as I used it already to make sure it was going to work, I went in to her bios and made sure that her bios boot first from the CD drive and then HD even turned off the HD boot too. Still can not get her desktop to boot from disk.. I get no operating system installed whic is exactly correct as the HD is wiped and empty, so what am I missing. I seen somewhere about disabling USB legacy support, to no avail...

My mothers desktop is an old HP with an Intel processor. not quite sure which one but I know it's not all that old. Everything is so packed in there that I can't see and don't have the documentation. The CD drive is newer as I purchased it for her two years ago so that shouldn't be an issue. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the bonehead question, but I just want her Desktop out of my home as it's become nothing but a headache at this point in time. Thanks in advance to anyone who helps.

Phantom1121:confused:

melojo
December 31st, 2008, 07:38 PM
Do you have another cd drive you can throw in you moms system to test to make sure that one is good. The reason I say this is I had a hp640 dvd r/w and it went bad. It would not read cd's very well or write to them, but dvd's it had no problems. This hp dvd was only a couple years old at the most.