View Full Version : Ubuntu - Feed Your Addictions

umechanism
December 31st, 2008, 05:56 AM
I solve things.
That's what I do.
Problems - I fix them.
Equations - I solve them.
Unknowns - I make them known.
This is what I do. I'm driven to find answers, seek solutions, and reveal those things that confuse and bother most people. People call on me to fix their trucks, cars, TVs, lights, plumbing, wiring, audio/video/home entertainment, the list goes on. I'm a fixer. I have a knack for it. I'm good at it. It is common sense to me. Gears, resistors, programs, relationships, algebra, see-saws, monkey bars, and slides - all fall under my broad scope of things I can fix, work on, design, build, integrate, or generally make better. I'm an engineer by education and a tinker-r at my core.

I'm known by these things. I'm not boasting. I help anyone one with anything at anytime - I'm just driven to do so. It's my nature.

It is because of who I am that I use Linux. It is a program that it is in constant flux and in a constant state of "needing fixed". Linux does a lot of things very well but never have I found a distribution that did not require some extra work, tweaking, fixing, research - etc...to make it work with my computer. Ubuntu's nice interface teases me into thinking that it will work "out of the box" with everything I have yet the new desktop computer I purchased before Christmas can not produce any sound because of a driver bug (bug report filed). I can remote desktop from Ubuntu to a WinXP machine with no effort. It works perfectly yet I can't get my webcam to work. There it sits atop my new monitor taunting me with the fact that it works just fine in Vista but more work is needed to make it work in Ubuntu.

Fix me.
I'm broken.
Stay up late.
Google all night long.
Post threads.
Ask questions.
Fix me.

Yet, I've not fixed it.