PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] I need to install something using "make && make install" command. I dont kno

hibajugalala
December 31st, 2008, 12:01 AM
I need to install something using "make && make install" command, or atleast thats what it tells me to use, but i don't know how to use it!!!

Can someone please help me!! I'm new to ubuntu.

vambo
December 31st, 2008, 12:08 AM
Looks as if you need to install the build-essential package to get make

In terminal

sudo aptitude install build-essential

or via synaptic package manager, which might be easier if your new.

I take it you're building an app?

oldos2er
December 31st, 2008, 12:11 AM
What program are you trying to compile?

hibajugalala
December 31st, 2008, 12:26 AM
K i wanna install atlantis on my computer.
I read the read me and it says to compile with the usual "make && make install" command.

vambo
December 31st, 2008, 12:44 AM
Assuming you have make installed. Go the the directory where atlantis source is - probably the same one as the README is in - then in terminal

sudo make

Assuming that runs with no errors then

sudo make install

BTW - I have no idea what atlantis is

oldos2er
December 31st, 2008, 12:50 AM
K i wanna install atlantis on my computer.
I read the read me and it says to compile with the usual "make && make install" command.

Got a URL for it?

stderr
December 31st, 2008, 01:04 AM
Typically, the app may or may not provide a 'configure' script - if so, it's best to run that first

./configure

If you're missing anything required to build the app, the configure script will likely give you a hint towards what you're missing.

Following that, you'd run 'make'

make

I wouldn't normally use the root account for either configure or make, though.

Then it's the matter of 'make install', which will need root priviledges.

sudo make install

So, make actually compiles the source code, and make install puts the compiled files in the correct places, as I understand it.

hibajugalala